TIPC

变革性创新政策评估的形成性方法

Thinking & Analysis

TIPC 不仅致力于为变革性变革创建新的政策框架;联盟的一个关键计划重点也是对此类政策的评估。有时,评估被理解为研究人员、资助机构、政策制定者、政府和非政府组织的流行语,他们面临越来越大的压力,需要提供可衡量的结果来证明其项目的有效性或效率。但是,当前的评估策略是否“适合”新兴的变革性创新政策 (TIP) 框架?为了证明这种难以捉摸的影响,许多项目可能会淹没在需要精辟案例研究和统计数据的海量指标中,从而将评估变成毫无意义的清单。

与其作为项目特定点的敷衍检查,最有效的评估应该成为政策核心的一部分,跨越不同的实施级别(例如计划、项目)。 TIPC 寻求在政策试验过程中交织评估策略。新政策框架的共同创造将意味着新评估策略的共同创造——变革性政策需要变革性评估。该联盟正在着手制定评估策略(基于通用变革理论等)和一套指导方针,以评估政策试验和国家科学技术机构对社会技术转型的贡献。实现可持续转型的系统。

TIP 的评估策略应该是什么样的?转型创新政策 (TIP) 与之前的框架不同,它明确寻求从一开始就解决社会和环境挑战,而不是假设——或者实际上希望——经济增长最终会导致相关社会和环境问题的解决.这本身就意味着评估标准将与以前的政策评估截然不同。在接下来的几个月中,TIPC 联盟成员将思考哪些评估策略可以在其政策环境中发挥作用,从而为整体评估框架做出贡献。联盟团队将探索的要素和领域将包括查看工具、方法、问题、标准、治理系统和评估流程。

(变革性)变革理论:

重要的第一步是创建变革性创新政策的变革理论 (ToC)。 ToC 是一种评估性规划工具,它使利益相关者能够从政策目标向后工作,绘制为实现项目目标而需要发生的预期结果和输出、过程和输入。通过这一点,为框架和评估者制定了明确的途径。从一个通用的变革理论来看,多个 TIP 实验最终将如何促进更广泛的社会技术系统的积极变化,还需要为单个实验制定更具体的 ToC,以反映它们存在的背景多样性。

规划和参与评估:

评估过程本身应反映其评估的政策框架;正如我们期望 TIP 创建过程具有包容性和参与性一样,评估也必须如此。传统的评估通常由外部参与者领导,即实施和规划过程的专门评估专家。相比之下,参与政策实验的参与者也参与(几乎)这些实验评估的所有阶段,而外部专家主要充当促进者,这对 TIPC 至关重要。政策试验过程的包容性也应体现在评估过程中;必须特别注意决定哪些声音通常比其他声音更容易被听到的权力动态。

新问题,新答案:

只有当驱动它的问题很清楚时,评估才能是好的。由于将引导 TIPC 政策实验的问题应该与以前的政策方法大不相同,因此评估问题应该有所不同。通常,评估的各个阶段侧重于 4 个领域——影响、结果、过程(或活动)和输入。但在这四个领域中,我们还应该提出一些与 TIP 评估特别相关的关键问题。

  1. 产生了什么?

结果是政策实验或过程的直接结果,对于许多计划或项目而言,通常包括产生的报告、发现或论文。对于 TIPC,感兴趣的结果是那些使参与者能够继续改进并为进一步的变革举措做出贡献的结果。这些将是学习过程的结果,例如参与者的任何构建能力或可以推进的可操作知识。还可以探索进行实验的组织内部的变化,无论是结构性的,接受更多的实验,还是现在正在采用的与变革性变革和变革性创新特定相关的新方法。参与实验的参与者是否学到了任何新的、相关的技能,可用于推进变革性变革的实验?而且,更重要的是,演员是否深刻反思了他们当前的社会技术实践和惯例?我们能否观察到与现有社会技术体制相关的叙事、行为和网络的转变?

  1. 完成了什么?

影响通常是政策制定者在政策评估方面最感兴趣的事情。对于 TIPC,利益影响应与已解决的社会和/或环境挑战相关,尤其是与可持续发展目标 (SDG) 相关的挑战。以可持续发展目标为起点,可能需要考虑的问题可能是特定的可持续发展目标是否已得到解决以及取得了哪些成功。从这个意义上说,在这种情况下定义什么是“成功”很重要,避免谈论“效果归因”,而支持促成变革的因素的想法。我们如何评估对特定社会技术系统向可持续性过渡的贡献?

  1. 它是如何完成的?

绘制和评估实验过程通常可以阐明如何取得成功(或实际上是失败),以及如何在未来改进该过程。与其他项目不同,不成功的 TIPC 实验不会被注销为失败;从该实验的过程中仍然会有宝贵的学习经验,这将导致未来项目的成功和学习。对于 TIPC,政策实验必须为反思性和深度学习提供机会。权力动态如何影响决策和学习过程?是否考虑了不同的技术方向和变革途径?

  1. 投资了什么?

评估人员和决策者通常会关注关键投入,例如财务资源或人力资源。虽然这肯定是一个因素,但评估 TIPC 输入的过程需要关注不太明显但同样重要的元素。如果要成功实现参与式评估,就必须存在信任以及支持、承诺和专业知识。是否有在共同基础上进行合作的集体意愿?是否承认不同和相互冲突的利益?

学到了什么? TIP 评估的形成性方法

可持续转型 TIP 的评估提出了更大的挑战,需要仔细考虑要使用的评估方法。从这个意义上说,机会来自于回顾现有文献,并结合参与科技创新政策和(有时)变革过程的政策制定者和当地积极分子的经验。似乎出现的第一个结论是,需要一种形成性的政策评估方法,其中二阶(深度)学习和反思性是核心要素。 TIP 评估的功能应该是一种形成性的功能,而不是出于问责目的。这也加强了评估与联盟其他核心活动之间的必要联系:首先是能力建设,还有实验和研究。

在此背景下,TIPC 可以制定一致的评估框架,以提供更具体的评估策略和一套指导方针。致力于变革性评估的新方法是一个反思性、参与性的过程,它交织在实验和政策框架创建的所有阶段。随着框架的发展和适应,评估也会随之发展。变革性创新政策实验将需要一种新的评估策略,该策略必须通过进行政策实验的相同参与者共同创建。随着联盟在其即将进行的政策实验的基础上更深入地研究潜在的假设和机制,将有空间为变革性创新政策设计具体的评估策略。

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

SANDRO GIACHI & REBECCA KERR |  OCTOBER 2018

TIPC is not only in the business of creating new policy frameworks for transformative change; a key programmatic focus for the Consortium is also on the evaluation of such policies. Sometimes, evaluation has been understood as a buzzword for researchers, funding agencies, policymakers, governments, and NGOs, who are under increasing pressure to provide measurable outcomes that demonstrate the effectiveness or efficiency of their projects. But are current evaluative strategies “fit for purpose” for the emerging framework of Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP)? In their efforts to demonstrate that ever elusive impact, many projects can drown in a sea of indicators that demand pithy case-studies and statistics, turning the evaluation into a meaningless checklist.

Rather than acting as a perfunctory check-in at specified points of the project, evaluation at its most effective should be part of the core of the policy, across different levels of implementation (e.g. programme, project). TIPC seeks to interweave evaluation strategy within the process of policy experimentation. The co-creation of new policy frameworks will mean the co-creation of new evaluative strategies – Transformative policies require transformative evaluation. The Consortium is moving towards developing an evaluation strategy (based on a generic Theory of Change, amongst others), and a set of guidelines that will enable to assess policy experimentation and the contributions of National Science and Technology Agencies to the transformations in socio-technical systems toward sustainable transitions.

What could an evaluation strategy for TIP look like? Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP) differs from previous frameworks in that it explicitly seeks to address social and environmental challenges at the onset, rather than assuming – or, indeed, hoping –that economic growth will eventually result in the resolution of relevant social and environmental problems. This in itself will mean that the criteria for assessment will be extremely different from previous policy evaluations. In the following months, TIPC consortium members will be reflecting on what evaluative strategies could work in their policy environments, contributing to an overall evaluative framework. The elements and areas the Consortium team will explore will include looking at tools, methods, questions, criteria, governance systems and evaluation processes.

A Theory of (Transformative) Change:

An important first step is creating a Theory of Change (ToC) for Transformative Innovation Policy. A ToC is an evaluative planning tool that enables stakeholders to work backwards from policy objectives, mapping expected outcomes and outputs, processes and inputs that will be need to happen in order to achieve the project goals. Through this, an explicit pathway is laid out for the framework and the evaluators. From a generic Theory of Change that will lay out how multiple TIP experiments will ultimately feed into a positive change in the wider socio-technical system, there will also need to be more specific ToCs for individual experiments to reflect the contextual diversity they exist in.

Planning and Participating in Evaluation:

The process of an evaluation itself should reflect the framework of the policy that it is assessing; as we expect the TIP creation processes to be inclusive and participatory, so must the evaluation be. Traditional evaluations are often led by external actors, experts specialising in evaluation that implement and plan the process. In contrast, it is crucial to TIPC that the actors who are involved in policy experiments also participate in (almost) all stages of the evaluation of those experiments, with external experts mainly acting as facilitators. The inclusivity characterising the process of policy experimentation should also manifest in the evaluation process; attention must be paid in particular to the power dynamics that determine which voices are usually heard more than others.

New questions, new answers:

An evaluation can be good only if the questions that drive it are clear. As the questions that will lead TIPC policy experiments should be very different from previous policy approaches, so the evaluative questions should be different. Generally, the stages of an evaluation focus on 4 areas – impacts, outcomes, process (or activities), and inputs. But within those four areas, we should also asking for some key questions that assume a special relevance for TIP evaluation.

  1. What was generated?

Outcomes are direct results of policy experiments or processes, and for many programmes or projects often include reports, findings, or papers that are produced. For TIPC, outcomes of interest are those that enable the actors to continue improving and contributing to further transformative initiatives. These will be the results of a learning process, such as any built capacities of actors or actionable knowledge that can be carried forward. Changes within the organisations that undertook the experiment could also be explored, whether it be structural, an up-take in more experimentation, or new methods that are now being adopted in specific relation to transformative change and transformative innovations. Have the actors involved in the experiment learnt any new, relatable skills that could be used in furthering experimentation in transformative change? And, more importantly, have actors deeply reflected about their current socio-technical practices and routines? Can we observe transformations in narratives, behaviours and networks in relation to the existing socio-technical regimes?

  1. What was accomplished?

Impact is often the thing that policymakers are most interested in regards to policy evaluation. For TIPC, impacts of interest should relate to social and/or environmental challenges that have been addressed, especially those that are related to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Taking the SDGs as a starting point, possible questions to consider could ask whether or not specific SDGs have been tackled and to what success. In this sense, is important to define – within this context – what a ‘success’ is, and avoiding to talk about ‘attribution of effect’ in favour of the idea of factors contributing to transformative change. How can we assess the contribution to a transition toward sustainability in specific socio-technical systems?

  1. How was it completed?

Charting and assessing the process of an experimentation can often shed light on how success (or indeed failure) was achieved, and how the process could be improved in the future. Unlike other projects, an unsuccessful TIPC experiment will not written off as a failure; there will still be valuable learning lessons from that experiment’s process that will lead to success and learning in future projects.  For TIPC, the policy experiments must provide opportunities for reflexivity and deep learning. How did power dynamics affect the decision-making and learning processes? Have different directions for technology and pathways of change been considered?

  1. What was invested?

Often evaluators and policymakers focus on key inputs such as financial resources or Human Resources. While this must definitely be a factor, the process of evaluating inputs for TIPC will need to focus on less tangible but equally as important elements. If participatory evaluation is to be successfully achieved, trust must be present as well as support, commitment, and expertise. Was there a collective willingness to collaborate on a mutual footing? Were different and conflicting interests acknowledged?

What was learned? A formative approach for TIP evaluation

The evaluation of TIPs for sustainability transitions presents greater challenges that need careful reflection about the evaluation approach to be used. In this sense, an opportunity comes from reviewing the existing literature in combination with the experience of policymakers and local activists involved in STI policy and – sometimes –-transformative processes. A first conclusion that seems to emerge is that there is a need for a formative approach to policy evaluation, where second-order (deep) learning and reflexivity are central elements. The function of TIP evaluation should be a formative one instead of for accountability purposes. This also reinforces the necessary connections between Evaluation and other core activities of the Consortium: capacity building firstly, but also experimentation and research.

With this backdrop, TIPC can develop a consistent evaluation framework for delivering a more specific evaluation strategy and a set of guidelines. Working towards a fresh approach for transformative evaluation is a reflexive, participatory process that is interwoven at all stages of the experiment and creation of a policy framework. As the framework evolves and adapts, so will the evaluation. Transformative Innovation Policy experiments will need a new evaluative strategy that must be co-created through the same actors that conduct policy experiments. As the Consortium delves deeper into the underlying assumptions and mechanisms at the base of its upcoming policy experiments, there will be space to design specific evaluative strategies for Transformative Innovation Policy.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This