TIPC

哥伦比亚、可持续发展目标、绿皮书和变革性创新——反思

Thinking & Analysis

2018 年 7 月 12 日

关于变革性创新政策和可持续发展目标的哥伦比亚绿皮书:哥伦比亚地区将变革性理论转化为变革行动的机会

2018 年 5 月,哥伦比亚科技部 Colciencias 发表了他们的 “绿皮书”政策文件 阐明了如何通过变革性科学技术和创新 (STI) 政策到 2030 年实现可持续发展目标。绿皮书对哥伦比亚科技政策的作用提出了激进的愿景,并呼吁社会技术系统发生深刻变革,转化为我们使用自然资源、消耗能源、生产和消费食物以及使用移动服务的方式的变化减少温室气体排放。它指出,未来的创新政策不能仅以经济增长为中心,而必须反映经济、社会和环境优先事项的平衡。

绿皮书认为科技创新可以在可持续发展目标中发挥重要作用,但要实现这一点,它承认需要一种新的政策方法。一种通过与广泛的社会进行对话并考虑的不是一种,而是多种可能的路径和解决方案。因此,需要政策试验和政策学习,不仅要评估短期产出,还要评估中长期过程。这种变革性的方法要求民间社会组织、公共、私营和大学部门之间进行跨学科合作,区域政策发挥着重要作用。

在过去三年中,作为与 Colciencias 的 SPRU 团队的一员一起工作,首先要强调的是,作为一份创新政策文件,绿皮书提供了一个大胆的新叙述,标志着国家创新机构的一次令人耳目一新的变化。它打破了许多多边组织仍然支持的传统创新政策建议,这些组织继续专注于克服市场失灵和追赶战略。在发展背景下,这在很大程度上加剧了环境退化并嵌入了社会不平等。从这个意义上说,不应忽视导致编写绿皮书的过程。绿皮书所依据的变革性创新政策 (TIP) 的想法并不是由大量资金流强化的飞进飞出学术等级制度提出或设想为模型的。但是,它们的制定也并非孤立于关于科技创新政策的国际辩论。绿皮书是科学政策研究单位 (SPRU)、Colciencias 的学者与变革性创新政策联盟 (TIPC) 的学者之间三年讨论、合作和共同制作的结果,该联盟的其他六个国家科技机构来自2016 年至 2018 年间在三大洲举行。该过程还包括在哥伦比亚与国家政策制定者、区域政策制定者和指导项目与来自七个不同地区的约 50 名哥伦比亚学者举行的研讨会。此外,它还涉及 SPRU 学者和位于 SPRU 的哥伦比亚博士生与哥伦比亚研究人员之间的研究项目,以更多地了解区域政策在变革性创新过程中的作用。 Colciencias 本身就可持续发展目标 (SDG) 主题和涉及 1500 多人的活动对近 50 万受访者进行了调查。

现在注意力转向实施。绿皮书正确地识别了许多真正的风险。在我看来,除了这些,还有一些基本问题,即转型在哥伦比亚这样的国家究竟意味着什么。这些政策以前没有实施,当然应该在政策实施的同时进行更深入的研究。我将把自己限制在可能构成哥伦比亚科技创新政策拐点的三个问题上。

第一个提出了一个直截了当的问题,即政策制定者在变革性创新中扮演什么角色?我建议它不依赖于政策制定者使用的两种常用方法。第一个是依赖所谓的“看不见的手”来实现转型变革,这种变革转化为中性政策,例如补贴以增加企业的研发资金,这可能(也可能不会)对整体私人研发支出产生乘数效应,但不太可能具有变革性。变革性创新的显着特征是它由具有远见和叙述的参与者和代理人构建,以构建新的可持续社会技术系统。政策制定者可以促进叙事构建和愿景(这可以激发新政策),并且存在可以帮助开发这些替代方案的政策工具(例如公共采购政策、试验)。在另一个极端,应该避免过度依赖自上而下的干预措施,这在发展环境中尤为常见。通常,技术专长被用来证明政策的合理性,这些政策通常只是传播机制,很少或根本没有提到这些技术所针对的人群。

这引出了第二点,如果政策制定者的角色是促进(而不是构建)转型,那么政策制定过程需要轻而易举地发挥作用,并围绕该政策制定与参与者对话和互动的复杂手段。因此,转型变革的一个重要特征是公民社会的积极参与,或者正如 Hess (2015) 所说的“动员公众”。这些参与者通常从事与变革相关的项目,这些项目有时资金不足,因为他们代表的风险较高,或者因为他们挑战了精英或现任者青睐的某些议程。然而,替代方案往往是从这些运动中出现的。我们在该项目中的研究重点是保护波哥大湿地社会环境系统的社会运动。这涉及居民、学者、学生和环保活动家的联盟,他们在科技系统中找到了回应,并通过开展研究和推动改变保护城郊湿地的政策做出回应。创新政策如何与社会运动互动并从中学习是熊彼特式的创新概念中完全没有的。然而,地方网络社会运动可以代表社会变革的强大而复杂的民间社会表达,并可以向最高决策者表明应该进一步投资的地方。

最后还有一个问题是哪些行为者可能会引领哥伦比亚的变革。如果不显着挑战社会中存在的巨大社会和环境挑战以及不平等,任何假装解决可持续发展目标的科技创新政策都不具有合法性。拉丁美洲的经济历史表明,技术的大多数根本性变化都是外生的,并且针对中高收入群体。几乎没有颠覆性企业家对世界舞台产生影响的例子,并且必须对大型经济集团和跨国公司对变革性创新的承诺提出重要的问号。尽管如此,政策可以通过从具有可持续替代方案的新参与者那里释放新的学习动力来鼓励更根本的变化,这些替代方案可以开始改变创新的全景。

参考

赫斯,DJ (2015)。未完成的科学和社会运动:回顾和类型学。在 劳特利奇国际无知研究手册 (第 141-154 页)。 https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315867762

发表评论

您的电子邮箱地址不会被公开。 必填项已用*标注

MATIAS RAMIREZ | 12 JULY 2018

The Colombian Green Book on transformative innovation policy and the SDGs: An opportunity for Colombian regions to turn transformative theory into transformation action

In May of 2018 the Colombian department of science and technology, Colciencias, published their “Green Book” policy document that sets out how the sustainable development goals can be met by 2030 through a transformative science technology and innovation (STI) policy. The Green Book presents a radical vision of the role of science and technology policy in Colombia and calls for profound transformations in socio technical systems that translate into changes in how we use natural resources, consume energy, produce and consume food, and use mobility services to reduce greenhouse emissions. Future innovation policy, it states, cannot be centred only on economic growth but must reflect a balance of economic, social and environmental priorities.

The Green Book argues that STI can play a fundamental role in the SDGs, but for that to happen it acknowledges that a new policy approach is needed. One that is framed through dialogue with a broad spectrum of society and considers, not one, but multiple possible paths and solutions. Therefore, policy experimentation and policy learning are required, backed up with evaluation of not just the short term outputs but also the medium and long term processes. This transformative approach calls for inter-disciplinary collaboration between civil society organisations, public, private and university sectors with regional policy playing a prominent role.

Working for the past three years as part of the SPRU team with Colciencias, the first point to underline is that, as an innovation policy document, the Green Book provides a bold new narrative that marks a refreshing change for a national innovation agency. It breaks with the conventional set of innovation policy recommendations still espoused by many multilateral organisations that continue to focus on overcoming market failure and catch-up strategies. In a developmental context, this has done much to exacerbate environmental degradation and embed social inequality. In this sense, the process that led to the writing of the Green Book should not be overlooked. The ideas of Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP), upon which the Green Book draws, were not posed or conceived, as a model, by a fly-in-fly-out academic hierarchy reinforced by large funding streams. But they were also not developed in isolation from international debates on STI policy. The Green Book was the culmination of three years of discussion, collaboration and coproduction between academics at the Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU), Colciencias and those taking place in the Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium (TIPC) involving six other national science and technology agencies from three continents between 2016 and 2018. The process also included workshops in Colombia with national policy makers, regional policy makers and mentoring projects with around 50 Colombian academics in seven different regions. Further, it involved a research project between SPRU academics and Colombian PhD students based in SPRU with Colombian researchers to learn more about the role of regional policy in the transformative innovation process. Colciencias itself conducted a survey with nearly half a million respondents on the topic of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and activities involving more than 1500 people.

The attention now turns to implementation. The Green Book rightly identifies a number of genuine risks. In my view, in addition to these there are some fundamental questions about what transformation actually might mean in a country such as Colombia. These policies have not been implemented before and should certainly involve more in-depth research alongside the policy implementation. I will restrict myself to three issues that may pose inflexion points for STI policy in Colombia.

The first of these asks the straightforward question of what role do policy makers play in transformative innovation? I would suggest it does NOT rely on two common methods used by policy makers. The first is the reliance on the so-called “invisible hand” to achieve transformative change which translates into neutral policies, for example subsidies to increase R&D funding by firms, which may (or may not) have a multiplier effect on overall private R&D spending, but are very unlikely to be transformative. The distinctive feature of transformative innovation is that it is constructed by actors and agents that have visions and narratives to build new sustainable socio technical systems. Policy makers can facilitate narrative building and visions (and this can inspire new policies), and policy instruments exist (for example public procurement policies, experimentation) that can help to develop these alternatives. At the other extreme and to be avoided are over reliant on top down interventions that are especially common in developmental contexts. Often technical expertise is used to justify policies that are often little more than transmission mechanisms  with little or no reference to population on whom these technologies are being imposed.

This leads to the second point, that if the policy maker role is to facilitate (rather than construct) transformations, the policy making process need to function with a light touch and develop sophisticated means of dialogue and interaction with actors around this policy. Thus an important feature of transformative change is the active participation of civil society or as Hess, (2015) terms it “mobilized publics”. These actors are often working on transformative–related projects that are times underfunded because of the higher risk they represent or because they challenge certain agendas favoured by elites or incumbents. And yet it is often from within these movements that alternatives emerge. Our research within this project focused on the social movement to defend the socio-environmental systems in the wetlands of Bogota. This involved coalitions of residents, academics, students and environmental activists that found an echo in the S&T system, and responded by undertaking research and facilitating a change in policy towards protecting peri-urban wetlands.  How innovation policy can interact with and learn from social movements is something that is completely absent from Schumpeterian notions of innovation. Nevertheless, local networked social movements can represent a powerful and sophisticated civil society expression for social change and can indicate to top policy makers where further investment should be made.

Finally there is the question of which actors are likely to lead transformative change in Colombia. No STI policy pretending to address the SDG goals will have legitimacy if it does not significantly challenge the vast social and environmental challenges and inequalities that exist in society. The economic history in Latin American has shown that most radical changes in technologies have been exogenous and directed at middle and higher income groups. There are next to no examples of disruptive entrepreneurs that have made an impact on the world scene and important question marks have to be raised about the commitment of the large economic groups and multinationals to transformative innovation. Policy can nevertheless encourage more fundamental changes by unlocking new learning dynamics from new actors with sustainable alternatives that can begin to change the panorama of innovation.

References

Hess, D. J. (2015). Undone science and social movements: A review and typology. In Routledge International Handbook of Ignorance Studies (pp. 141–154). https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315867762

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This