TIPC

关于政策试验:决策、设计和进化态度

Thinking & Analysis

 2018 年 5 月

在变革性创新政策联盟 (TIPC),我们正在开展一项激动人心的五年计划,其中涉及大量政策试验和共同创造。有了这个博客,这是一个系列中的第一个,每次都关注 TIPC 计划的一个要素,我分享了我对政策实验的一些思考,这些是我在探索性的一年中探索这个领域时收集的。

对实验、实验和实验主义的提及正变得无处不在。听播客时很难不遇到至少一个对这些“前任”的引用。以各种形式和标签出现在城市、政策单位和多方利益相关者平台中的实验专用空间或实验室。这种热情部分源于最近对复杂和棘手问题带来的不确定性、模糊性和无知的接受(Stirling 2010,Leach et al. 2010)。仔细观察联合国可持续发展目标,您会发现多个交叉问题,解决方案远非显而易见,并且可能会产生连锁反应和影响。在这种情况下,实验室通常旨在应对特定挑战或任务,体现了对创新的乐观态度以及对规划和传统决策方法的怀疑态度。尽管存在这些共性,但人们仍使用类似的语言来描述对通过实验可以实现的目标的不同的、有时是相互矛盾的期望,包括:

  • 产生决策“什么有效”的科学证据
  • 测试设计假设并澄清“到底发生了什么”
  • 在公共部门内进行创新并展示“将会发生什么”
  • 处理“如果会发生什么”的不确定性和复杂性
  • 培养创造力和学习“可能是什么”
  • 保护、滋养和授权“可能发生的”替代方案
  • 引发讨论并探讨“应该发生什么”

然而,在 TIPC 加入这个潮流之前,我们有必要质疑实验的轮廓和方向。 Bason (2017) 在确定实验的决策和设计态度(或基本原理)时提出了一种有用的方法来做到这一点。在这里,我回顾了这些态度,并用我研究领域(可持续性转型)中普遍存在的观点来补充它们。这些态度通常被追求政策试验的各种实践社区视为理所当然。让他们的假设显而易见是在 TIPC 内形成共同理解的重要一步。

决策态度

决策态度侧重于促成决策制定(Bason,2017 年),因此主要关注产生关于一组预定义选项的有效性的(科学)证据,以估计影响、降低风险、确认设计假设和优化政策工具。这种态度与强调对实验参数的严格控制的计量经济学方法(例如随机对照试验)或行为实验有关。

考虑到 TIPC 的目标,这种态度本身不足以处理转型过程带来的不确定性、模糊性和无知,因为它会加速围绕特定干预措施的封闭,并扼杀对不同目标、手段和影响的深思熟虑。路径。然而,开发结合社会评估和实验的其他方法可以成为更具变革性的审议实践的切入点。例如,这可以通过映射不同利益相关者在评估特定政策困境时使用的标准(即多标准映射),然后使用该信息来设置实验并评估他们的进展来实现。

设计态度

相比之下,设计态度强调“探索下一个实践”,并采取“创造未来的立场”(Bason,2017)。这一立场将不确定性和模糊性视为过程的生成因素,这主要被认为是一种创造性的努力。设计师的能力和敏感性被视为引导政策制定试验过程的好方法。特别是,培养深刻的同理心被认为对于重新将政策集中在人们的需求及其与系统的关系上(而不是效率或绩效的抽象概念)至关重要。在这里,实验室通常被视为创意空间,政策制定者和其他利益相关者可以在这里从新的角度处理问题,并制定新的方法,然后在实践中进行测试(例如通过快速原型制作)。

与这种态度相关的各种方法已经渗透到政策实践中,并赋予其新的活力。然而,如果以设计态度为目标,采用设计态度在多大程度上有助于促进系统性变革,这一点并不明显。通过将政策试验问题界定为主要涉及创造力,它往往会忽视现有系统的路径依赖和锁定扼杀变革的具体方式。大多数创新和精心设计的干预措施在面对已经存在的事物的绝对不屈不挠时都会退缩。

进化态度

在可持续性转型领域,我们观察到一种将系统性变革放在首位和中心位置的进化态度。即使有前途的技术或社会实践很明显(例如用于脱碳发电的太阳能光伏发电),将其主流化仍然是一个挑战;协调开发该技术的各种过程、其供应链、创建适当的商业模式、政策、法规和通知用户可能需要几十年的时间。可能需要更长的时间来建立和调整互补性创新(例如智能电网、电网规模存储、家用存储),以创建可行的替代方案,并处理出现的多种复杂情况(例如适当的补贴、不断上涨的电力成本)。这些崭露头角的社会技术配置在与主流做事方式竞争时面临着巨大的压力,例如用户对性能和成本的期望,以及在位玩家的积极抵制。

出于这个原因,学者们强调了利基的重要性:保护空间,在这些空间中,主流做事方式的影响不会那么霸道,新兴实践和技术可以找到必要的资源和条件来发展。可以通过利用预先存在的有利条件以及建立和支持战略性社会技术实验来建立此类利基市场(Schot 和 Geels,2008 年)。因此,转型领域认为,实验、开发利基市场的努力以及其他政策方法(嵌入政策组合中)可以帮助促进可持续性转型(Kivimaa 和 Kern,2016 年;Rogge 和 Reichardt,2016 年)。在这种情况下,实验可以定义为“一种包容性的、基于实践的、以挑战为主导的倡议,旨在通过在不确定和模糊的条件下进行社会学习来促进系统创新”(Sengers 等人,2016 年)。

为 TIPC 动员实验

在 TIPC 的背景下,这些不同态度的要素是突出的。特别是,我们希望赋予我们的成员以发展进化态度的能力,正如我们观察到的那样,在目前有利于决策和设计的实践中,它仍然在很大程度上被忽视了。

至关重要的是,随着实验在政策领域内外的各个领域不断发展,决策者必须超越仅仅为了政策制定而建立具体的政策实验,并建立参与和动员这些举措的能力,以及从中吸取的教训一系列的实验活动。考虑到这一点,我们去年发表了 探索实验性政策参与 (EPE) 的简报:“政策制定者参与实验过程的多种方式,发起、支持或动员此类举措为决策提供信息,促进社会学习过程,开发替代途径和制定理想的未来。” (托伦斯和肖特,2017 年)。

我们已经开始为我们的转型实验室做准备,我们将在那里探索不同的 EPE,并共同开发可以支持转型创新政策 (TIP) 的方法、实践和原理。在这些努力中,我们致力于共同创造和共享学习。因此,本着这种精神,我很想听听您对这个 TIPC 核心程序首次亮相博客中讨论的要点的反馈和贡献。

参考

Bason, C.(2017 年)领先的公共设计:发现以人为本的治理。布里斯托尔:政策出版社。
Kivimaa, P.、Kern, F.,2016 年。创造性破坏还是仅仅是利基支持?可持续发展转型的创新政策组合。研究政策 45.doi:10.1016/j.respol.2015.09.008
Leach, M.、Scoones, I. 和 Stirling, AC (2010) 动态可持续性,动态可持续性:技术、环境、社会正义。劳特利奇。内政部:10.4324/9781849775069。
Rogge, KS, Reichardt, K.,2016 年。可持续发展转型的政策组合:扩展概念和分析框架。研究政策 45, 1620–1635。 doi:10.1016/j.respol.2016.04.004
Schot, J. 和 Geels, FW(2008 年)“战略利基管理和可持续创新之旅:理论、发现、研究议程和政策”,技术分析和战略管理,20(5),第 537-554 页。内政部:10.1080/09537320802292651。
Sengers, F.、Wieczorek, AJ 和 Raven, R.(2016 年)“可持续性转型试验:系统文献综述”,技术预测和社会变革。 Elsevier Inc.,(印刷中)。 doi:10.1016/j.techfore.2016.08.031。
Stirling, AC (2010) '保持复杂。', Nature, 468(7327), pp. 1029–31.内政部:10.1038/4681029a。
Torrens, J. 和 Schot, J.(2017 年)实验在变革性创新政策中的作用。 2017–2。布赖顿。 http://www.transformative-innovation-policy.net/publications/roles-of-experimentation-in-transformative-innovation-policy/

[/et_pb_text][/et_pb_column][/et_pb_row][/et_pb_section]

JONAS TORRENS | MAY 2018

At the Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium (TIPC), we are embarking on an exciting five-year programme that involves a good deal of policy experimentation and co-creation. With this blog, the first in a series that each time focuses on one element of the TIPC programme, I share some of my reflections about policy experimentation, gathered as I was scouting this territory during our explorotary year.

References to experiments, experimentation and experimentalism are becoming ubiquitous. It is hard to listen to a podcast without coming across at least one reference to these “exes”. Dedicated spaces for experimentation, or laboratories, are cropping up in cities, policy units and multi-stakeholder platforms under a variety of guises and labels. Part of this enthusiasm stems from a recent embrace of the uncertainty, ambiguity and ignorance brought forward by complex and wicked problems (Stirling 2010, Leach et al. 2010). Look closely at the UN Sustainable Development Goals and you find multiple intersecting issues, for which solutions are far from obvious, and that could create knock-on effects and impacts. In this context, labs are typically designed to tackle a particular challenge or mission and are the embodiment of a rhetoric instilled with optimism about innovation and scepticism about planning and traditional approaches to policymaking. Despite these commonalities, a similar language is being used to describe diverse, and at times, contradictory expectations of what can be achieved by experimentation, including:

  • to generate scientific evidence of ‘what works’ for decision making
  • to test design-hypothesis and clarify ‘what is really going on’
  • to innovate within the public sector and demonstrate ‘what will happen’
  • to deal with uncertainty and complexity on ‘what would happen if’
  • to foster creativity and learning about ‘what could be’
  • to protect, nourish and empower alternatives ‘which might happen’
  • to provoke discussion and probe ‘what ought to happen’

However, before TIPC jumps on this bandwagon, it is essential we question the contours and directions of experimentation. Bason (2017) proposed a useful way to do this when he identified the decision and design attitudes (or rationales) for experimentation. Here, I review these attitudes and complement them with a perspective which is prevalent in my field of study (sustainability transitions). These attitudes are often taken for granted by the various communities of practice that pursue policy experimentation. Making their assumptions evident is an important step to develop a shared understanding within TIPC.

Decision attitude

The decision attitude focuses on enabling decision making (Bason, 2017), and thus is primarily concerned with producing (scientific) evidence about the efficacy of a predefined set of options, to estimate impacts, mitigate risk, confirm design hypothesis and optimise policy instruments. This attitude is associated with an emphasis on econometric methods (e.g. randomised control trials) or behavioural experiments, which adhere to strict control of experimental parameters.

Considering TIPC’s objectives, this attitude, in and of itself, is insufficient to handle the uncertainty, ambiguity and ignorance brought about by the process of transformation, as it can precipitate closure around specific interventions and stifle deliberation about the ends, means and implications of different pathways. Nevertheless, developing other methodologies that combine social appraisal and experimentation can be an entry point for more transformative practices of deliberation. This can be achieved, for example, by mapping the criteria that different stakeholders utilise when evaluating a particular policy dilemma (i.e. multi-criteria mapping), then using that information to set up experiments and evaluate their progress.

Design attitude

In contrast, the design attitude emphasizes ‘probing next practice’, and takes a ‘future-making stance’ (Bason, 2017). This position embraces uncertainty and ambiguity as generative for the process, which is primarily thought of as a creative endeavour. The abilities and sensitivities of designers are seen as good ways to navigate the process of experimenting with policymaking. In particular, cultivating a deep empathy is seen as crucial for re-centring policy on people’s needs and their relationships with the system (as opposed to abstract ideas of efficiency or performance). Here, laboratories are often presented as creative spaces, where policy-makers and other stakeholders can approach problems from new angles, and craft novel approaches which then go on to be tested in practice (e.g. by rapid prototyping).

Various methods associated with this attitude have been permeating policy practice and giving it a new dynamism. However, it is not evident to what extent the adoption of a design attitude can help promote systemic change, if this is the goal. By framing the issue of policy experimentation as primarily concerning creativity, it tends to neglect the concrete ways in which path-dependence and lock-in of existing systems stifle transformations. Most innovations and well-designed interventions recoil when confronted with the sheer indomitability of that which is already here.

Evolutionary attitude

Within the field of sustainability transitions, we observe an evolutionary attitude that places systemic change front and centre.  Even when a promising technology or social practice is apparent (say solar PV for decarbonising electricity generation), mainstreaming it remains a challenge; it can take decades to align the various process of developing that technology, its supply chains, creating the appropriate business models, policies, regulations and informing users. It can take even longer to establish and align complementary innovations (e.g. smart grids, grid-scale storage, domestic storage), to create a viable alternative, and handle the multiple complications that emerge (e.g. appropriate subsidies, rising electricity costs). These up-and-coming socio-technical configurations face immense pressure when competing with the dominant way of doing things, such as users’ expectations of performance and cost, and active resistance by the incumbent players.

For that reason, scholars highlight the importance of niches: protective spaces where the effects of the dominant way of doing things are not as overbearing, and emerging practices and technologies can find the necessary resources and conditions to develop. Such niches can be built by taking advantage of pre-existing favourable conditions and by establishing, and supporting strategic socio-technical experiments (Schot and Geels, 2008). Thus, the transitions field argues that experimentation, coupled with efforts to develop niches, and other policy approaches (embedded in a policy mix) can help foster sustainability transitions (Kivimaa and Kern, 2016, Rogge and Reichardt, 2016). In this context, experiments can be defined as ‘an inclusive, practice-based and challenge-led initiative designed to promote system innovation through social learning under conditions of uncertainty and ambiguity’ (Sengers et al., 2016).

Mobilising experimentation for TIPC

In the context of TIPC, elements of these different attitudes are salient. In particular, we hope to empower our members to develop the evolutionary attitude, as we have observed that it is still largely neglected in the current practice that favours decision and design.

Crucially, as experimentation continues to develop in various domains within and outside the policy realm, it is vital that policymakers move beyond setting-up specific policy experiments solely for policy formulation and build the capacity to engage and mobilise the initiatives, and the lessons emerging from a range of experimental activities. With that in mind, we published last year a brief that explores experimental policy engagements (EPEs):  ‘The diverse ways in which policymakers engage with processes of experimentation, initiating, supporting or mobilising such initiatives for informing decision-making, enabling processes of social learning, developing alternatives pathways and enacting desirable futures.’ (Torrens and Schot, 2017).

We have begun preparation for our transformation laboratory, where we shall explore different EPEs and co-develop the methods, practices and rationales that can underpin Transformative Innovation Policy (TIP). In these efforts, we are committed to co-creation and shared learning. So in this spirit, I am curious to hear your feedback and contributions to the points discussed in this TIPC core programme debut blog.

References

Bason, C. (2017) Leading Public Desing: Discovering human-centred governance. Bristol: Policy Press.
Kivimaa, P., Kern, F., 2016. Creative destruction or mere niche support? Innovation policy mixes for sustainability transitions. Research Policy 45. doi:10.1016/j.respol.2015.09.008
Leach, M., Scoones, I. and Stirling, A. C. (2010) Dynamic Sustainabilities, Dynamic Sustainabilities: Technology, Environment, Social Justice. Routledge. doi: 10.4324/9781849775069.
Rogge, K.S., Reichardt, K., 2016. Policy mixes for sustainability transitions: An extended concept and framework for analysis. Research Policy 45, 1620–1635. doi:10.1016/j.respol.2016.04.004
Schot, J. and Geels, F. W. (2008) ‘Strategic niche management and sustainable innovation journeys: theory, findings, research agenda, and policy’, Technology Analysis & Strategic Management, 20(5), pp. 537–554. doi: 10.1080/09537320802292651.
Sengers, F., Wieczorek, A. J. and Raven, R. (2016) ‘Experimenting for sustainability transitions: A systematic literature review’, Technological Forecasting and Social Change. Elsevier Inc., (In Press). doi: 10.1016/j.techfore.2016.08.031.
Stirling, A. C. (2010) ‘Keep it complex.’, Nature, 468(7327), pp. 1029–31. doi: 10.1038/4681029a.
Torrens, J. and Schot, J. (2017) The Roles of Experimentation in Transformative Innovation Policy. 2017–2. Brighton. http://www.transformative-innovation-policy.net/publications/roles-of-experimentation-in-transformative-innovation-policy/

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This