Chaire de recherche trilatérale DST/NRF/Newton Fund en innovation transformatrice et développement durable

Évènement passé
19 janvier 2022 15h00 (GMT)
19 janvier 2022 16h30 (GMT)

The DST/NRF/Newton Fund Trilateral Research Chair in Transformative Innovation, the 4th Industrial Revolution and Sustainable Development is a partnership between three organisations: the host, the University of Johannesburg; the African Centre for Technology Studies (ACTS) , which is a research think-tank in Nairobi; and the Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU), an internationally recognised leading centre research on science, technology and innovation policy, based at the University of Sussex in the UK. Our research programme has the ambition to develop and test a new theoretical framework to understand transformation, in the context of 4IR and from an African perspective. The three partners share a common interest in unpacking the social and technological relationships that explain the rate, direction and patterns of (radical) innovation adoption, diffusion and use. This is a process involving not only technologies but also changes in consumer practices and needs, the skills and capabilities of all actors involved, infrastructures, governance, regulation, industry structure and cultural meaning of the system.

In addition to exploring innovation in 4IR in African countries, by using a transformation lens, our programme also looks at the governance and policy issues of how to exploit the transformative potential of these technologies to address the SDGs. Here the programme collaborates with the existing Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium (TIPC) currently coordinated by the Science and Policy Research Unit (SPRU) and the University of Sussex, UK. The main aim is to ensure that 4IR potential is harnessed for Sub-Saharan Africa and in particular South Africa and Kenya.

Participants in the session were:

  1. Professor Erika Kraemer-Mbula from the DSI/NRF/Newton Fund Trilateral Chair in Transformative Innovation, the 4IR and, Sustainable Development, at the University of Johannesburg
  2. Dr Rob Byrne from the Science Policy Research Unit at the University of Sussex
  3. Dr Ann Kingiri from the African Centre for Technology Studies.
  4. Ms Amanda-Leigh O’Connell PhD Student from the University of Johannesburg
  5. Ms Wondia Yeo PhD student from the University of Johannesburg
  6. Ms Ann Numi PhD student from the African Centre for Technology Studies
  7. Dr Glenda Kruss from the Centre for Science, Technology and Innovation Indicators at the Human Sciences Research Council.
  8. Professor Rebecca Hanlin from the DSI/NRF/Newton Fund Trilateral Chair in Transformative Innovation, the 4IR and, Sustainable Development, at the University of Johannesburg
  9. Nabila Noor Mohammed Project Coordinator from the DSI/NRF/Newton Fund Trilateral Chair in Transformative Innovation, the 4IR and, Sustainable

Ref: #47

Infrastructures de connaissances pour la transformation
Renforcement des capacités


Erika Kraemer-Mbula
La professeure Erika Kraemer-Mbula dirige la chaire trilatérale DST/NRF/Newton Fund sur l'innovation transformatrice, la 4e révolution industrielle et le développement durable. Elle est actuellement professeure d'économie au College of Business and Economics de l'Université de Johannesburg. Erika est titulaire d'une maîtrise en politique scientifique et technologique de la Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU) de l'Université du Sussex et d'un doctorat en études du développement de l'Université d'Oxford. Elle se spécialise dans l'analyse des politiques scientifiques, technologiques et d'innovation et les systèmes d'innovation en lien avec le développement équitable et durable. Elle a occupé plusieurs postes de recherche au Royaume-Uni, au Centre de recherche en gestion de l'innovation (CENTRIM) et à la Science and Policy Research Unit (SPRU). En Afrique du Sud, elle a été chercheuse à l'Institute for Economic Research on Innovation (IERI) de l'Université de technologie de Tshwane, et est associée au Centre d'excellence DST-NRF en scientométrie et en politique scientifique, technologique et d'innovation (SciSTIP). En outre, elle fait partie de l'équipe présidentielle de Globelics, membre du conseil scientifique d'Africalics et membre du comité directeur du partenariat Open African Innovation Research (Open AIR), entre autres réseaux. Elle est également membre du comité de rédaction de plusieurs revues internationales.
Rob Byrne
Unité de recherche sur les politiques scientifiques
Rob Byrne is a Senior Lecturer at the Science Policy Research Unit (SPRU), University of Sussex. He has an undergraduate background in renewable energy engineering and appropriate technology, and he worked in this field for one year in Botswana and three years in Tanzania. Since gaining his postgraduate degrees in science and technology policy studies, his research and teaching have focussed on sustainable energy access and science, technology and innovation policy in sub-Saharan Africa, especially in Kenya and Tanzania. He draws on a range of academic approaches including, amongst others, transitions theory, innovation systems, political economy and science and technology studies and has roles in the STEPS Centre (Social, Technological and Environmental Pathways to Sustainability), the Sussex Energy Group, Climate Strategies and the Low Carbon Energy for Development Network. He also contributes to the Transformative Innovation Policy Consortium (TIPC) Working Group and is the Sussex lead for the Trilateral Chair, a TIPC-related programme of research on transformative innovation, the fourth industrial revolution and sustainable development, working with partners in Kenya and South Africa. TIPC provides a space in which Rob can draw together the various elements in his background and current work to help find ways for societies to become sustainable in practice, as well as feed back into more traditional academic knowledge production.
Ann Njoki Kingiri
Ann Kingiri est chercheuse principale au Centre africain d'études technologiques (ACTS). Elle est chercheuse en politique et développement en science, technologie et innovation (STI) et se concentre sur le développement inclusif et durable en Afrique. Elle dirige le programme Science, Technologie, Innovation (STI), Connaissance et Société (STIKS) en tant que directrice. Elle a de l'expérience dans le renforcement des capacités, la recherche et l'analyse des politiques axées sur les études et le développement de l'innovation, l'agriculture, les technologies renouvelables, la biotechnologie, l'innovation numérique, le genre et le changement climatique. L'approche de recherche et d'analyse des politiques d'Ann implique une réflexion sur les systèmes d'innovation et une réflexion transformatrice. Elle est titulaire d'un doctorat du Royaume-Uni dans la discipline des politiques et pratiques de développement axée sur les nouvelles politiques en matière de biosciences. Elle est secrétaire générale du Réseau africain pour l'économie de l'apprentissage, de l'innovation et des systèmes de renforcement des compétences (AfricaLics). Il s'agit d'un réseau d'universitaires travaillant sur la manière dont l'innovation et le renforcement des compétences peuvent être exploités pour le développement en Afrique. Ann est également directrice non exécutive du Kenya Climate Innovation Center (KCIC).